I’ve Been Writing Online for the Last 9 Years and Made 7 Figures. If I Had to Start Again, Here’s What I’d Do.

Writing is a team sport masquerading as a solo pursuit

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMar 4, 2023

--

Photo by Marissa Lewis on Unsplash

I’m not the best writer.

But racking up 500m+ views online over 9 years, getting a book deal with a major publisher, and making 7 figures …. means I must know something.

I get asked all the time, if I had to start again what simple steps would I take? Here’s my answer to help you write online.

Step 1: Find a massive pool of people

LinkedIn and Twitter have the biggest sources. I’d pick one and go hard. I’d be relentless and make it my main goal. Every spare minute would go into being active on the platform.

Step 2: Choose a backup platform

Any platform can decide to ban you before you’ve even gotten up to do a poo. It’s happened to me and, I’m sure, others you know. So essentially you’re going to run with both Twitter and LinkedIn.

Step 3: Take a short course to learn the nuances

Social media apps look deceptively simple.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb