Jumping out of an airplane

Sven ten Hove
The Startup
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2019

It’s the fear of the unknown that stops us from experiencing new things.

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all. A quote from Helen Keller, and if you are a bit familiar with our work and stories, you know that this is something we live for.

All in our own capacity. Some more, then the other. And that is ok, as long as we’re striving for happiness in our daily lives.

My dad’s birthday was coming up, so I decided together with some family members that this was the perfect gift.

For a couple of years now I had this dream of jumping out of a plane.

A couple of minutes later we booked the tickets.

Later driving to the airport I was super excited and not nervous at all. Arriving at the terminal and having the safety brief the excitement was real!

I love flying, planes and everything that has something to do with that — flying for 13 hours? No problem.

After waiting for a while, our group was ready to board. You meet your instructor, the guy your life depends upon, and you get into a small airplane, ready for taking off and ascend to 13.000 feet.

On 4000 feet they opened the door already for some early jumpers, I was sitting right next to it.

Now I wasn’t only excited anymore… Some fear and anxiety was getting into my body. Looking out of the plane, with the door open, does something with your body and mind.

Once we arrive at 13.000 feet, it was our time to jump. My sister was first and saw here jumping out the freaking airplane!

Then it was my time to jump. 3…. 2…. Go.

In the frist second my body was in an intense fear mode, falling with your head down, out of the plane, looking downwards…

…After that moment, the fear was completely gone. In a split-second, the fear was turned into the most epic experience I ever experienced.

You’re flying with 200km/h and the view is beautiful!

No words can describe this experience, the feeling I had.

I was fully present.

While writing this down I get the goosebumps all over again.

On the other side of fear, you will experience the most blissful experience life has to offer.

A quote from Will Smith where he describes the same experience (but better, you should check the video)

This experience has reminded me in a new way that you have to conquer fear.

This is not only true for this kind of adventures, but also for building a business or asking someone for help, decide to design or build something different or learn a new language!

It’s the fear of the unknown that stops us experience new things.

This stops us from experiencing the most beautiful moments life has to offer.

No go do what you can’t.

Have an epic day

Sven

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by +418,678 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Sven ten Hove
The Startup

I run a Design company in Amsterdam. My personal purpose in life is to create an adventure within whatever I do. And I truly wish this for everyone else.