I Can’t Tell You Why Our Business Is Growing

Ali Mese
The Startup
Published in
7 min readMay 9, 2016

--

On my way to the co-working space, I grabbed my mobile to read the same Slack message yet another time:

“Ali, that’s good, but we should look at what converts.”

It never failed. It was either a client or a colleague on the same marketing team. There was always someone who never missed the perfect opportunity to remind me of the importance of a conversion funnel:

  • Get a bunch of website visitors,
  • then do something to turn some of them into leads — aka people who have shown interest in your business,
  • and then do something else to turn those leads into customers.

That ‘do something’ part was exactly what stressed me out the most every time I was reminded to stop wasting time on things that don’t sell and to get my focus back on what converts.

kill conversion funnel marketing
From ‘Why I hate funnels’ essay by Mailchimp founder Ben Chestnut. But more on that in a minute.

In the fancy world of A/B tests and viral factors, we loved to call ourselves growth hackers.

But weren’t we supposed to build products people love instead of wasting our lives optimising the colour of damn buttons to increase signups by 0.0123456789…

--

--

Ali Mese
The Startup

Founder/Owner: Start it up + Curious + Geek Culture. I also write essays that help you get smarter at building your thing https://GrowthSupply.com