Learning Scala for the Absolute Beginner

Sharing my tips for self-learning Scala (SKAH-lah)

Dean Sublett
The Startup

--

A Proposition

Let’s say that I give you 4.5 days to

  1. earn the certificate for completing Martin Odersky’s Scala course
  2. grasp the concepts behind the functional programming paradigm
  3. prepare a 10–15-minute lesson for a group who’s unfamiliar with Scala

Could you do it?

I was tasked with these items this past week and failed miserably. I realized that I didn’t have the prerequisites to get the most value out of Professor Odersky’s course, and I grew frustrated to the point of not finishing the course in my 4.5 day timeline. I’m here to share my Scala-learning journey so that you don’t have to stumble over the same obstacles.

If you’re reading this article, I’ll assume that you’re at least remotely interested in picking up Scala. I’ll also assume that you’ve allotted yourself longer than one week to learn the language.

Some Objectives

Here are some objectives for you:

  • Begin to develop an understanding of functional programming
  • Set up your machine for writing Scala

--

--