Learn to Unlearn

Sometimes, learning is about forgetting.

Hoang Nguyen
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 2, 2024

--

Learn to Unlearn
Photo by Kateryna Hliznitsova on Unsplash

“Neil Armstrong was the first man on the Moon. But who came second? A question lost to oblivion, for if you aren’t first, you’re forgotten.”

This profound reflection from the movie “3 Idiots” resonated deeply with me, as if seeing my reflection in the storyline. I realized I had never paid heed to the other astronauts aboard Apollo 11.

During my twenties, I thought life was a relentless race where only the leaders were remembered and celebrated. This belief influenced every aspect of my life — from gaming to academia and even my professional choices, always striving to be a trailblazer.

However, as I ventured into my thirties, this pursuit of constant leadership led to burnout. It fostered negative traits and taught me some harsh but valuable lessons.

I share this narrative to illustrate how our beliefs, often shaped by motivational stories, become ingrained within us. Yet, there are moments when these beliefs become obsolete and hinder our progress.

The concept of “unlearning” becomes crucial, akin to emptying a filled glass to make space for fresh water. This principle applies to knowledge and information, especially in a rapidly changing world where a few years can bring monumental shifts.

--

--