Lessons Learned From 8 Years in the Making of an Entrepreneur

One step at a time, one lesson a year.

Fernanda Graciolli
The Startup

--

Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

My company is in the middle of a capital raise. This is by far the furthest I’ve come with a business. We have about half a product, a few hundred eager followers, a team of 8 amazing people and a really clear vision. It took me 8 years and dozens of failed attempts for me to get to this point in my entrepreneurial journey. My intuition is that Writtio will be a success, whatever meaning that takes on for us in the next five years. And when that happens, others will look at us, the founders, and see only the tip of the iceberg.

I’ve gained a lot of technical knowledge in the past 8 years. Knowledge that has been instrumental in taking steps forward. But, beyond and perhaps more important than technical knowledge, I’ve gained social, business, marketing and emotional knowledge.

I recently did a quick exercise where I looked back and picked out one piece of knowledge that I felt was the catalyst to the next step in the journey.

There’s no better learning instrument than experience. Reading about a life lesson does not mean you’ll learn that life lesson. But, when you read about lessons ahead of time, you alert your brain to its existence and learn it faster when life does decide to teach it to you. I…

--

--

Fernanda Graciolli
The Startup

Mother. Technologist. Queer. Immigrant. Bipolar. Writer. In no particular order.