Lessons Learned From Leaving My Six-Figure Job Last Week to Follow My Passion

How I took a single Facebook group post back in January 2020 and grew it into a six-figure side hustle during the pandemic

Justin Kelsey
The Startup

--

Image by author — My first day in the new e-commerce video studio

For those of you already running your own companies full-time, I’m sure you can think back to when you finally made the decision to go all-in. Somewhere deep down, you had a burning passion that was telling you to just do it, regardless of how many of your loved ones told you you’re crazy.

For me, that day has finally come. Last Friday, I resigned from my six-figure corporate job to risk it all in following my passion for creating e-commerce videos, and I couldn’t have done it without building a network within online communities.

This quick read will outline how I took a single Facebook group post back in January 2020 and grow it into a six-figure side hustle through COVID, as well as what I’ve learned since going full-time with it.

A Little More Context

Before launching VAXA Digital, I’d always had my “side hustles.” I came from a middle-class family with divorced parents, so I knew if I wanted to build wealth, I’d have to create it myself. If I wanted to go to college, I’d have to pay for it…

--

--

Justin Kelsey
The Startup

Creating scroll-stopping video ads for e-comm brands. Founder @ vaxadigital.com. Former strategy consultant sharing my thoughts on advertising and productivity.