Let Me Consider That…

How to say NO when you can’t actually say no

Jeffrey Keefer, Ph.D.
The Startup

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Do you ever find yourself in the situation when you feel a great amount of pressure to answer in the affirmative, even when you don’t want to do so?

It is so easy to fall into the YES trap.

Want to join us for drinks?
(I don’t drink, but…) Yes.

Can you work me up some numbers for this idea?
(Even though it is not my project, and it is 5:00 on a summer Friday…) Yes.

How about we grab some wings and a beer?
(I am still vegetarian, and beer gives me a headache, but…) Yes.

Don’t you just love how the President dismissed those critics while mocking his stupid, stupid opponents?
(Seriously, am I the only Democrat who works here?…) Yes.

I’m selling Girl Scout Cookies for my daughter. How many boxes you want?
(What are there, like 4 cookies in a box these days? Are the Girl Scouts even around anymore?…) Yes.

Sound familiar?

Social pressure toward YES

There is enormous social pressure to say yes. We want to be team players. We want to be liked. We think we have to…

--

--

Jeffrey Keefer, Ph.D.
The Startup

Jeffrey M. Keefer, Ph.D.: Educational Strategist & Eco Mindfulness Guide. Transforming busy lives with simple, nature-integrated mindfulness practices.