Living on the Cheap

A penny saved adds up

Laura Mohsene
The Startup

--

Image by Olichel Adamovich from Pixabay

There’s a difference between being poor and living cheap by choice. Having been poor for many years has influenced my ability to live cheaply, but living cheap is how my husband and I choose to live now. No one is better at living cheap than my Lebanese husband, so it helps if you and your significant other are agreed on the strategy to save money. If you are single, you can make the decision for yourself.

I lived cheap for many years when I was younger due to very low income, so I know that those who must live cheaply by necessity may scoff at the idea of following the advice in this article, because they are probably already doing most of these things. Also, I’m not making a judgment on how you spend your money, but if you want to save money for a rainy day and/or a major purchase or vacation, then this is for you.

If you are trying to save up to start your own business, saving now can help you succeed.

Advertising and popular culture promote the idea that we must buy things to be happy, to be admired, to be accepted. And not just any things, but fancy name brand things, things we often cannot afford or that we really don’t need.

All advertising is based on persuading you, the consumer, to part with your hard-earned cash…

--

--