Look how Trader Joe’s fearlessly writes their product description

A product catalog. Unlike any product catalog. How to infuse personality in your product description

Henry Cheng
The Startup

--

source: Freepik.com @ storyset

Trader Joe’s is a US grocery store chain that offers mostly private-label products at affordable prices. If you live in the States and haven’t been to one, I highly encourage you to go check it out. It’s one of my favorite grocery stores to shop at.

I knew Trader Joe’s was famous for its unique and seasonal products, and I also kinda knew it has a humorous tone, but I didn’t pay much attention to their product descriptions until I picked up a copy of their Fearless Flyer:

Trader Joe’s Fearless Flyer is their monthly catalog for upcoming products. You can read the online version here.

“Okay…? So what’s so interesting about a product catalog?” you asked.

Take a read at the description of one of their newest products, “Tiniest Chocolate Chip Cookies” 👇
(or read it here if you also want to see how tiny they are)

--

--

Henry Cheng
The Startup

I love studying techniques that make people say YES! Sometimes I write about careers and sometimes I write in Chinese. English as a second language :)