Machine Learning for Equipment Failure Prediction and Predictive Maintenance (PM)

Shad Griffin
The Startup
Published in
29 min readJul 24, 2020

--

I spent roughly four years of my life studying equipment failure problems as a Data Scientist. This article includes the better part of what I learned along the way.

For more predictive maintenance techniques, please see the following series of articles.

Originally published in July 2020. Significantly augmented in February 2021 and August 2022

In this notebook, I walk through a predictive maintenance problem in great detail. These types of problems can be tricky for several reasons. The first six sections deal with building a model. The last sections deal with evaluating model effectiveness and ensuring it will be effective when deployed…

--

--

Shad Griffin
The Startup

Economist, Data Scientist and Data Wrangler. Opinions expressed and funny jokes are exclusively mine. Seeking truth from my treehouse on Idiot’s Hill, Texas