Modernizing A Neo Geo Pocket Color

My attempt to fix a major shortcoming of this unique handheld system

Jesse Freeman
The Startup
Published in
8 min readMay 5, 2020

--

I have always held a particular fascination for the Neo Geo Pocket Color. It was designed by SNK and came out in 1998. While intended to be a follow up to their previous black & white handheld, the Pocket Color went head to head with Nintendo’s Game Boy Color. By now, I think we all know how that story ended. While many companies tried to dethrone Nintendo’s Game Boy, it was virtually unstoppable. As a result, SNK’s Neo Geo Pocket Color faded into obscurity.

My unmodified Neo Geo Pocket with no backlit screen.

As a kid, growing up in the late 80s and early 90s, SNK’s home arcade system, the Neo Geo AES, was a thing of myth. I had never seen a Neo Geo home console until later in life when I could afford to buy a used one. Because of this, I had high expectations for the Pocket Color. The hallmark of the Neo Geo was large sprites, vibrant colors, and perfect arcade ports. Even to this day, I wonder at how ahead of its time the Neo Geo AES was.

SNK’s Neo Geo Pocket Color sold less than two hundred thousand units worldwide…

Unfortunately, despite the Pocket Color’s 16-bit processor, the handheld Neo Geo was an entirely different beast. The Pocket Color was limited to 64 (8x8) sprites per frame with…

--

--

Jesse Freeman
The Startup

Sr Director of Technical Marketing at Akamai & creator of Pixel Vision 8. These are my personal thoughts on gaming, productivity, and 25+ years of development.