My 11 Commandments of Running a Side Business With a 9–5 Job

Read this to get over your excuses

Ryan Porter
The Startup

--

Photo by Aleksandar Andreev on Unsplash

I just signed a client to a video offer.

And I did it without:

  • Promoting any videos myself
  • Quitting my full-time job
  • Paid ads

These are my non-negotiables for online business w/a 9–5.

1. Don’t be the best. Outlast your objections.

There are countless reasons to quit:

  • You’re feeling uncomfortable
  • People are better than you
  • You don’t have time
  • Business is tough

But there’s one reason to keep going:

“I want to make something for myself.”

You will make it if you can ignore the negativity in your head.

2. It takes 5 years of consistent effort to be good

When you start something new, it will suck.

It took me four years to make money from an offer. But it was worth it because this is my dream.

If you want something, give yourself longer than you think.

--

--

Ryan Porter
The Startup

I manage an $8-figure media team across 3 brands — I’ll help you make videos so you can grow yours. Join 500+ creators https://wordstovideos.carrd.co/