Acing the Product Manager and Technical Program Manager Interviews

My Answers to the FAANG Product Management and Technical Program Management Interview Questions

These are the questions I was asked and the actual answers that I gave to solicit offers from several FAANG companies

Domenic Merenda
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJun 1, 2020

--

From time to time, I’ll run through a series of FAANG interviews to gauge my market value as a contributor, as well as to keep my skills sharp. Recently, I did a full panel at three of the five FAANG companies, and received seven-figure offers from two of them. Both offers were at the director level or above, but the questions don’t vary much from senior manager to director level.

Due to Covid-19, interviews are now happening over video chat. Because of this, I was able to take very detailed notes (often transcribing what I was saying as I was saying it).

Coaching clients often ask me what questions they should expect at FAANG (Facebook, Amazon, Apple, Netflix, and Google) Product Manager (PM) and Technical Program Manager (PM) interviews. Many coaches will offer platitudes or general responses, which is fine for some, but I think there’s additional value in specific answers to actual questions for those who…

--

--

Domenic Merenda
The Startup

Angel Investor; Early Member of Python Core Team at BeOpen PythonLabs (versions 1.6 to 2.x); Enterprise SaaS Expert; Startup Advisor; living the Silicon Valley