My Best Blog Post Made $850.47 So Far. I Wrote It In 2 Hours.

Exploring the changing economics of WordPress blogs

Jon Middaugh
The Startup

--

Photo by Luke Dean-Weymark on Unsplash

Calculating the money-making potential of blogging comes down to averages: average views per post, average earnings per view, average lifespan of a post.

It’s the outliers that bring up the averages and make blogging worth it.

Let’s explore the earnings from my programming blog. Feel free to take a look at my all-time highest earning post: Material-UI makeStyles, useStyles, createStyles, and withStyles Explained

The Numbers Behind My Best Post

We’ll examine the numbers shortly, but first some backstory:

I stumbled onto blogging about Material-UI (now MUI) at the onset of the pandemic in Spring 2020. The docs were pretty good, but sometimes simple things were hard to figure out. I was scared about my job security, so I started a side project.

My first good technical post was about changing the border color on an MUI TextField. After seeing this post bring in traffic, I focused on MUI and targeted keywords with little competition.

The best combination is high traffic keywords with few other articles on the internet covering the topic. Everyone using MUI (v4…

--

--

Jon Middaugh
The Startup

I have been: individual contributor | tech lead | manager | JS boot camp teacher | community college instructor.