My Colossal Failure with Lyft’s Express Drive Program

Joe Wolff
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJun 16, 2019

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

You win, Lyft. I’m out.

Note that this piece won’t serve as a long-form tirade against Lyft. There’s enough of those on Reddit. Rather, this will be an honest, data-supported look at the five weeks I wasted trying to make money with Express Drive instead of doing something more productive and profitable with my life.

Mind you, my lack of success is just as much my fault as it is the driver-unfriendly platform that Lyft has become. I admit this, I accept this and, at night in front of the mirror by myself, I loathe this.

For those unfamiliar with Express Drive, let me explain. When you drive for Lyft, you can use your own vehicle or rent a vehicle through Lyft’s Express Drive program. The rental costs roughly $240/week, and at least 20 rides must be given in order to be eligible for renewal the following week. Yes, in earning cash you must first earn back the rental cost, but Lyft has worked in a system where the more rides you give, the more you can reduce from the rental.

Currently, 85 rides/week nets you a $75 reduction from the rental cost, 110 rides/week a $120 reduction, and 135 rides/week a $200 reduction; therefore, if you can manage giving 135 rides or more over the course of seven days (so roughly 19 rides/day), you only pay $40 for the car rental.

--

--