My Dead Simple Morning Routine As a Writer With a 9–5

It’s much simpler than you’d anticipate

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Taylor Hugh on Unsplash

When you start writing on the internet you have a day job there is one major problem: figuring out what to write about.

Then comes the flurry of other problems: consistency, passion, patience. Honestly, the list is endless. But they all become much (much) easier if you have something to write about.

When I was low on ideas all of those things were much harder to master. When I was flowing with ideas, the consistency, passion and patience problems all took care of themselves.

The 9–5 grind

Now, the trouble with a 9–5 is that you don’t have much time to come up with ideas. Two hours a morning to write. That’s it. If you don’t, you produce zero for the day.

And that prospect can either be daunting or it can be the fire underneath you that gets you into your flow state.

I’ve been writing for 3 years alongside my 9–5. This week I hit 1000 articles on this platform. Here’s my simple morning routine for writing with a 9–5.

Start with the idea first

Really, it’s all about the idea. The thesis if you will. Your central point. For me, that 9/10 comes from frustration…

--

--