My First Week as an Internee at a Data Science Startup.

What my first week as an internee taught me about the field.

Moeedlodhi
The Startup

--

Photo by Studio Republic on Unsplash

There is no better teacher than experience. No matter how many stories a person hears or how many different scenarios they think about, He/She will find no substitute for real life experience
My romance with Data Science is no different.

Before ACTUALLY working for a company on real-life projects, My experience and understanding of Data Science were confined to “neat and clean” academic Datasets from Kaggle or hour-long tutorials on Youtube.

Getting close to 78 percent accuracy on the Titanic Dataset gave me that false confidence that I was a soon to be “hot commodity” in the field and don’t get me wrong here.

Only the top 5 percent of the people who have participated in the Titanic Dataset has scored more than 80 percent and that is a massive feat but It’s only the beginning.

So here are the five things I learned in my first week as an internee

  1. Real Life Data is going to humble you
Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

--

--