My Friend Lost His Business After a 15-Minute Speech

The Coronavirus ended his ten-year business journey and it will inspire you during these tough times.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Image Credit: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

With the uncertain times we live in, I did the rounds over the last few days and began ringing every person in my phone. The reason for my call was to make sure each person was okay.

I didn’t expect any surprises and assumed everybody in my phone’s contact list would be at home relaxing in isolation with their families. That was until I rang a lifelong friend.

The two of us met on MySpace when I was a teenager. Without him, I would never have had a music career. He was the first person to believe in the fruits of my creative endeavours, which eventually led me to write.

Over the last ten years, he had built up a large business with many employees in the hospitality industry. He took his passions of food, entertainment, music and customer service, and fused them into an unstoppable business. The part I loved most about his journey is that he always remained humble and took care of the people he worked with like they were his own flesh and blood.

The conversation started like this:

“How are you doing?”

“I’ve had my fair share of tears this…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb