My journey of becoming a digital illustrator & What I’ve learned

Tips and tricks which can help any creative person

Katarzyna Dziaduś
The Startup
5 min readJan 26, 2019

--

How I become an illustrator

I remember my first drawings and conversations about illustrations in the sandbox when I debated with my neighbor about going behind the lines in coloring books and the consequences of that. I was four or five and I didn’t like this kind of books. (I’ve never been able to color this stack of coloring books from my grandmother.) A clean sheet of paper was always more exciting for me.

Okay, but what to do when you know that drawing is pretty cool and you can continue to do something about it in your life?

During my whole carrier, I had to choose between so many options. I’m glad that I had enough time for exploration, so I wouldn’t call it a waste of time. But if I learn some bullet points from my story, why don’t share it with you.

Listen to your inner voice

When your inner voice is talking to you, that you don’t want to do this, just listen to it and don’t!

It was my problem at the beginning. Sometimes I was taking some jobs just because of money (you know, not for good money, but to make a living) and I felt that it’s not a right path. Even if sometimes it was something nice, finally I didn’t want it in my portfolio. Thoughts? Take this kind of job only, if it’s a matter of life and death — otherwise, you are wasting your time. Now I know that more important is building your portfolio with stuff which you want to do. And when your inner voice is talking to you, that you don’t want to do this, just listen to it and don’t do useless jobs.

Don’t do things only because others do

How many times you tried to do something new only because it’s popular, you can get good money, or “you will have a job in the future”? I’m from a small town where people trying always to be safe, so their choices are safe too. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing bad about it. Sometimes, it’s good to take another path. And even if you want to pick something popular it should be your wise and totally conscious decision.

Looking for your style is constant work, it won’t come without practice

As an artist, you always want your specific and unique style and to be like a rock star in the design universe. I know it’s a common issue for a lot of illustrators, artists, designers. I really admire people who can easily stick to one style and they creating amazing things. For me, it’s constant searching and exploring styles and mediums. A few months ago I was perfectly sure that I want to create 3d characters for the games but after that, I came back to 2d illustrations with my awesome procreate app on Ipad. Of course, sometimes I’m using 3d elements as a base for my illustrations, but it’s just a medium which is my way of showing the idea. For me, it’s more important to learn new things and using them as a tool, than just to keep my art in the same shape.

Think about your portfolio

Is the project which you are already creating something what you really want to have in your portfolio? Is it something what you really want to share and to do in the future? If not — just don’t waste your time and better focus on something what you really want to create and you really want to do as next. Your clients, before hiring you, they’ll always check your portfolio. And guess what… they won’t hire you because you are sure you can do this, they want to see examples. So… the best way to get your dream job is to do this before and have it in your portfolio.

Just because you like someone’s style it doesn’t mean that you’ll have to do the same

This is a good way to learn something new when you’re copying someone’s style. But remember that copy is just replication of someone’s vision. It’s good to understand how other artists work, but use it as a tool to find your way of working, your workflow.

It’s crazy important to have your favorite artists, inspirations, your benchmarks. Just remember that there is a very thin line between inspiration and plagiarism. So use your references very wisely.

Daily habits really help

When you want to become an illustrator, designer or any other kind of visual artist it’s good to have your own habits which are improving your skills. Maybe drawing morning routine, or sketching people in the metro, or maybe trying to explore the city and taking pictures. Set your timer — it can be even 15 minutes — and try to do something that can improve your visual library. Be 100% focus on the task. It will be great for you as an artist and also will help you like mindfulness, I really recommend this way of being creative.

Talk to people

If you’re still reading this article you are probably trying to understand if a creative job is something for you. Good direction!

Sometimes, however, you have to leave the comfort zone and talk to other creative people.

Listen to other people’s stories, read interviews and articles. Start listen to podcasts and pick the one which inspires you. Find a group on Facebook or go on inspiring meet up in your city. Get some feedback for your works! It’s always good to talk to people, especially to people who have similar passion like yours. And remember, never is too late to change your mind. Try new things, areas, and find the perfect one which will be a match for you.

I hope I didn’t bore you with my illustrative summary and my tips will be useful for you. For me being an illustrator has become a mission. On my journey, I met a man who showed me how illustration can be important and influential. What I like most about the illustration is that it can solve product problems. but I’ll tell you more about it another time!

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by +415,678 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--