My Life Has Been Derailed by my Health. I Want to Get it Back.

But everything feels so slow.

Grace Moore
The Startup

--

How I’ve spent the better part of three months, except less artfully. Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

The headache started on a Friday night.

It was different from my usual headaches. More sudden, for one, and spread out from in front of my right ear to the back of my skull, when I typically get migraines centered over my eyes. Being an anxious person, I immediately assumed the worst, but the pain wasn’t bad enough for me to truly believe something was Really Wrong. I took some ibuprofen and went to bed.

The pain was still there the next day, and the next. I went to the doctor, then I went to the doctor again. New symptoms started to emerge: the right side of my face felt a little numb. I was getting more headaches all over my head. My neck and shoulders hurt.

Theories were thrown around: Your ear is too clogged with wax, and it’s causing a headache; your Eustachian tubes are blocked, that’s what’s making your face numb; maybe you have a specific kind of migraine, try this medication.

Nothing worked and no diagnosis felt right.

Then I started getting pain on my left side too, in the same area, in front of my ear. My headaches were daily and often got in the way of functioning normally.

--

--

Grace Moore
The Startup

Learning to do this writer thing and sharing as I go. Poetry, CNF, mental health, and too many other interests. Support: ko-fi.com/gracemoore