My New Apple Watch is a Privacy Nightmare

And a voyeur’s dream

Matthew Woodall
The Startup

--

Image courtesy of Venturebeat.com

I’ve had my new iPhone and Apple Watch for a couple weeks now, and have been quite happy with what I’ve been discovering. I’ve managed to turn off some notifications so that my wrist isn’t buzzing every minute, which has made me much happier. The notifications I do get are largely unobtrusive and can easily be silenced or ignored if they’re not immediately helpful.

I’m still enjoying the “Breathe” and “Stand” reminders that I get when I’m not active enough. The gentle encouragement I get from the apps is slightly patronizing, but a nice reminder that I can accomplish lots during the day.

What I discovered a couple days ago though, has changed my opinion significantly.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love the phone and the watch.

I will just be infinitely more cautious about what I’m saying, and what others are saying around me.

--

--