My path to Bitcoin maximalism

I’d like to get a few things straight right off the bat. Based on a tweet I sent out last week, simply mentioning Bitcoin maximalism seems to trigger a lot of people

Frostillicus
The Startup

--

Some people seemed interested in hearing how I came to these conclusions, so I thought I’d write down some of my thoughts.

But first:

  1. This is my own personal story. I’m not making a comment on your choices, I’m not telling you you’re wrong, and I’m not going to rag on any specific cryptos.
  2. Bitcoin maximalism means very different things to different people. I use the term in reference to Bitcoin as money, as opposed to the view that the Bitcoin blockchain should be the only blockchain in existence, handling all decentralised computation.
  3. There are still parts of maximalist thought that I don’t agree with, and that’s okay. The crypto space can get incredibly ideological (especially on Twitter), but you don’t have to completely agree or disagree with anybody. If you find yourself not questioning anything someone says then you’re probably not thinking critically enough about it. My personal opinion is that some Bitcoin maximalists are too extreme and probably end up driving people away, but it’s not for me to tell them what

--

--