My true advice after leaving my job in Strategy Consulting to build a Startup

F Hernández
The Startup
Published in
7 min readFeb 14, 2019

--

This is the first article of the history of Arex. I will narrate each month our key steps, failures and successes in order to help other entrepreneurs.

Chapter 1: Dad mad when I left my full-time job

Meet my dad

It was September 2017, I had to speak at a Nova conference about blockchain. I explained the basics of this technology and my partner, Miguel Linera, spoke about a potential use case in Real Estate. That day we decided that, no matter how and with what idea, we would be partners and create a great company.

Thanks to Nova, I started working in an incredibly exciting project: Opening the Spanish office of a Digital Consulting firm that had just gone public in Italy: Alkemy Digital Enabler. The team was amazing: The ex-CEO of Groupon (Ferdinando Meo), an ex-BCG (Alessandro Sbrizzi) and me, who by that time I hadn’t even finished my Aerospace Engineering studies. Two months later a friend of mine (Gonzalo Puig) entered the team and we became a team that could beat all odds. We grew the team from a 3 employee firm to a +100 employees company in less than a year. My job was really exciting, I had almost full freedom to open business lines, and craft partnerships with tech companies or Private Equity firms in my free time. It was like being a

--

--