YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN A NORMAL SKILL YOU HAVE WILL COME IN HANDY!

My Vehicle Transport Job

Peggy Gillespie Hazelwood
The Startup
7 min readMay 24, 2019

--

An unexpected side hustle

While I was traveling around earlier this year, I stayed with family in the Midwest for a few months. I found out about this vehicle transport side hustle from one of my sisters.

My sister was driving new vehicles, mostly sedans and SUVs, from the local car dealership to the new buyers. I asked her about it because, well, I know how to drive!

After all, I had just driven 1,400 miles with no incident other than keeping my cat happy. I knew my cat wouldn’t be going to work with me if I did get hired, so it would be easier. Right?

What is Vehicle Transport?

What my sister told me about this job was sort of weird. It almost sounded too simple. She said she showed up, got two dealer license plates from the van lady who drives the drivers back from the delivery point, put the front and back plates on the car (with a special little tool), then got in the vehicle, got situated, and drove.

It sounded doable.

The dealership bought fleets of cars and sold them in volume to the state for general use and for state police. They didn’t use car carriers to move the cars to the purchaser. They…

--

--

Peggy Gillespie Hazelwood
The Startup

What, me work? Yeah, okay. Writer, editor, photographer, reseller. Owned by a cute, fluffy cat.