An ML starter algorithm

Naive Bayes Construed From Atom

Start your ML journey from here.

Sushmitha Palleti
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJul 19, 2020

--

It all started with the man in the picture above. He used the Bayes Theorem/Rule/Law to Infer the existence of God. Still, besides doing that, the theorem opened new avenues in probability theory and statistics and has a massive influence in the ML domain.

When I first started my Machine Learning journey, I learned Naive Bayes first. It is super easy, to begin with, and through this article, let us construct this super simple algorithm from scratch.

Agenda:

  1. Learn the Bayes rule and how it is related to the Naive Bayes, with an example.
  2. Setting up Naive Bayes in ML scenario, with an example.
  3. Building a Naive Bayes algorithm with Python using sklearn.

Learn the Bayes rule and how it is related to the Naive Bayes, with an example:

Considering, you are familiar with the concept of probability and conditional probability, let us take an example to understand Bayes Rule:

Let’s say, the probability of any student getting admitted to Harvard University → P(H)=0.1 →10%, and any student not being admitted to Harvard is →…

--

--

Sushmitha Palleti
The Startup

Doing the best I can until I know better. Then when I know better, I do better.