Navigating Life without a Map

The four phases you will find on the “pathless path”

Paul Millerd
The Startup

--

Navigating Life Without A Map

Over the past two and half years, I’ve been navigating unknown territory, grappling with the deep philosophical questions of how to live life and wondering how many of our ancestors lived life as if they had a map.

For most of my life, I pretended I had a map. It seemed that was what you were supposed to do as an adult. In job interviews, I lied about my career path and intentions to stay at that company. In my grad school interview, I outlined a very specific program that also happened to align with the goals of the program.

Before I left my full-time job two and a half years ago, I had the sense that things were going to be okay. That there was a plan. That life made sense.

The truth was I had no idea and it took taking the leap to self-employment to open my eyes.

As I’ve spoken to hundreds of people that have been carving their own paths and researched how people navigate life and stay sane along the way, a new kind of map has emerged. Not one that gives a perfect sense of certainty or comfort, but one that helps give language to feelings that are hard to name.

Self-Employment Opened My Eyes &…

--

--