No One Will Protect Your Time For You

But you can learn to do it for yourself

Deb Knobelman, PhD
The Startup

--

Photo by Kaylah Otto on Unsplash

When I was first promoted on Wall Street, I thought I had it made.

I was a Senior Equity Research Analyst. People in that position recommend stocks to institutional investors. Things have changed, but in the late 2000’s they were the experts about 10 or 15 or 20 companies in a specific sector. So, if your mutual fund or hedge fund owned a lot of a certain stock, odds were that they talked to an Equity Research Analyst first.

Senior Equity Research Analysts also run their own show. There is a department head above the position. And the compliance group creates some pretty tight guard rails around what you can & can’t say. But Senior Analysts in Equity Research have almost complete autonomy over their days. The details are completely up to each individual, and everyone has their own style.

So there I was, a newly minted Senior Analyst. I thought I’d be able to write about the topics that interested me. Visit the companies that were most compelling. Talk to the clients that I wanted to talk to.

Spoiler alert: I was wrong.

As soon as I started recommending stocks, I was inundated with calls, emails, and requests. All day, every day. Hundreds of investors asking questions about the stocks that…

--

--