Non-fungible Tokens, Blockchain, and the Future of Video Games

Why decentralized video games are the future

Reza Jafery
The Startup
Published in
7 min readOct 8, 2019

--

I’ve worked in the blockchain industry for years and been a gamer my entire life. Yet merging the two never crossed my mind. When I thought of blockchain games I’d think of games like CryptoKitties, which is more of a collectibles platform than an actual game. While CryptoKitties saw a lot of success and has arguably gotten more attention than any other dApp in the marketplace, it turned me away from the industry as a whole.

If blockchain gaming was going to be about collectibles, I wasn’t really interested. I understand the value that tokenization can bring to digital ownership, that the first CryptoKitty is one of the first verifiably owned digital items that has existed in history — I’m not trying to take away from that. Admittedly, I didn’t understand the point of NFTs at the time.

In all honesty, CryptoKitties, and most blockchain games out there suck. If I want to play 2D turn-based games I’ll play Final Fantasy 6, and even mentioning CryptoKitties and Final Fantasy in the same sentence is an insult to Final Fantasy.

For the most part, video games that are completely on-chain are slow, clunky, and difficult to use. It doesn’t make sense for a game to live completely on a blockchain…

--

--

Reza Jafery
The Startup

Ops @ PubDAO / Community @ Reflexer / Product @ Decrypt. Trying to change the rules and create a positive sum game.