On Communicating and Writing Technical Documents in Software Development

Fernando De Freitas
The Startup
Published in
10 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Some thoughts and guidelines on writing issues, tickets, pull request descriptions, release notes and documentation in general.

I’ve always had an interest in many things related to software development and design. And another field I’ve developed interest since moving to another country, where they speak a different language from my own and obviously have a different culture too, is communication.

Communicating is obviously relevant for every aspect of our daily life but this article will focus on the professional environment, specially software development, since it’s kind of “my trade”.

The Importance of Communication

Throughout my career I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter what you work on, it’s vital to be able to communicate to other people how and why the things you’re creating work the way they work.

Seriously, whatever it is. If people can’t understand it, it’s probably doomed to be shelved or discarded. Be it an “exciting” new product feature or “boring” documentation for some company process.

Improving your communication skills will open many doors in your professional career (and also in life). Which brings me to the next point.

--

--

Fernando De Freitas
The Startup

Principal Software Engineer and Engineering Manager. Specialty Coffee Enthusiast. I write about software development, management and other stuff occasionally.