One Lesson That Forever Changed How I Look at Outcomes

And how my Pyramid of Value approach emerged.

Todd Lankford
The Startup

--

Business Man with Arms Folded in an Office Setting | Image by Frank Reppold on Pixabay
Image by Frank Reppold on Pixabay

My lesson came after three straight eighty-hour weeks of workshop preparation.

First, here’s a little background.

I was part of a senior team at my consulting firm. The client was a well-known, big-name brand. My firm staffed me because of my extensive expertise (10 years) facilitating workshops.

The pressure was on to make a stellar first impression with a glitzy, strategic workshop.

Now, back to the day of the workshop.

I prepared for every possible angle. My approach: go “all-in.” I pulled out all the stops and left nothing to chance for this two-day workshop.

  • Scripts for all workshop team members to follow.
  • Extensive printed materials to run interactive sessions.
  • Detailed agenda along with timing and facilitator guidance.
  • Six rehearsals to prepare the workshop team to run their part.

I lived by the motto that I would make my own luck by being fully prepared for any situation.

But by the end of the first half of the workshop, I knew my efforts had missed the mark.

--

--

Todd Lankford
The Startup

Hi–I’m Todd. I help managers and product teams maximize outcomes while respecting people. https://www.coachlankford.com