Over Employment Is Ruining the Market for Everyone

And all the people supporting this initiative are selfish.

Desiree Peralta
The Startup

--

Photo by Max Duzij on Unsplash

When the pandemic started, and most of us were forced to work remotely, I realized two things:

  • That I had a lot of free time (my job was not very demanding).
  • And with one job, anything could happen (even solid companies had financial issues).

I was bored, I was anxious about the future, and even trying new ways to make money online, I didn’t feel I was totally productive. So, I decided to find another full-time job while keeping the one I had.

Months later, I got one from a local bank that was setting up a new team to build bots. This was a big advantage for me because when a company creates a new team, they have no real responsibilities.

This allowed me to have both jobs without problems for a while.

When the second job started to have more responsibilities, I started to neglect the first one, so in the end, I decided to quit it to focus on the new one, which paid better.

For me, over employment was an experience of just a few months to try new things. It was not morally correct (and I’m aware of that), and in the end, I felt it was simply not for me.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
The Startup

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/