Parting ways with Medium … then coming back

David Sun
2 min readJan 3, 2018

--

I recently found myself not using Medium as much as I use to. Instead of using some other platform to get my Medium-esque blog fix, I simply stopped reading.

Why is that? I wondered.

Honestly, the content on Medium (that I follow) is not unique anymore. I don’t get any new insights from the content I read on Medium. To clarify, your mileage may vary; I follow designers and startup/lifestyle blogs on Medium.

It is always the same: _ tips to lead a _______ life or Wake up ____ am and do this. It’s not even the content is bad … its just very VERY repetitive or over hyped. I’m not arguing that the advice is wrong or right, but I’m honestly hoping for more thought. I don’t want to hear just the standard Hollywood hero story and please, stop using the word hustle to describe everything in your life.

Can it be the Gary Vee effect? The repetitive motivational speaker?

Possibly, but I think it has more to do with the click baity nature of lifestyle blogs. Lifestyle blogs lost their spirit in discussion and became a broken radio station. Cuz it works. It get views, claps, and reads.

That works for the organization, but as a reader I’m getting bored of the content; I want controversy, thought, experimentation, and new ideas. I want to read a blog post and feel something more than compliance or boredom. I’ll rather be angry reading reading your blog than agreeing with your monotonous ranting of the 24/7 hustle.

Because of this, I stopped using Medium.

But in the spirit of the new year, I’m going to try something new. Unfollow all my startup/lifestyle blogs and start anew. Get new publications to follow and diversify my reading experience.

Hope it goes well.

-David Sun

--

--

David Sun

Computer enthusiast, designer, absurdist, and probably too nerdy. bydavidsun.com (Freelancer!)