People Who Won’t Stop Talking And What We Can Do About It

Bebe Nicholson
The Startup

--

The woman was a volcano of words ready to erupt

Who would have thought a petite, sweet-faced, seventy-year-old could ruin a class? I was happy to see we had a diverse group: men and women, young and old, married and single. I had agreed to facilitate this six-week discussion group and looked forward to a lively exchange of ideas.

The woman seemed reserved as she took a seat in the corner. I wondered briefly if she would be able to get a word in edgewise.

Not to worry!

The woman was a volcano of words ready to erupt. From the time we began our introductions until the time we trickled out at the end of class, weary and shell-shocked, she spewed a lava of nonstop talk that smothered any hope of further discussion.

At the time, I didn’t know how to stop her. A few intrepid souls tried to interrupt. But she forged ahead, oblivious. She wouldn’t be sidetracked or deterred.

Gradually people stopped coming, until our numbers had dwindled to three: me, the talker, and one other committed (or masochistic) person. I concluded the class was a dismal failure.

Fast forward a few years, and I was taking a class taught by a good friend who also happened to be an excellent…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
The Startup

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net