How to escape the 9 to 5

Playing the long term game

Neil Kakkar
The Startup
Published in
6 min readFeb 20, 2019

--

Have you seen this before?

People worrying, stressing and obsessing over outcomes. Outcomes that felt so important at the time. Outcomes that have since been forgotten, collecting dust on the list of inconsequential outcomes.

I’m no better.

Where people chant “Om, Om, Om” to calm themselves and focus, I find myself whispering “Long term, Long term, Long term”.

I struggle to calm myself. I struggle to teach myself how to think long term. But one begets the other. A calm mind equals foresight, and foresight equals tranquility. Minor things don’t bother you that much when you think about the 5 year impact.

However, we were not programmed to think this way. Eons ago, not knowing where our next meal was going to come from, forced us to think short-term. Get what you can, fill yourself up. Hoard.

Today, that’s not the case. Hungry? You can teleport food to your doorstep. Any time, any day, as long as the government is running. All your basic needs are met.

That means you can break away from hoarding food, right? Sure, yes. But put people in an event with limited free food — and you’ll see the hoarding instincts come right back out.

The case for long term…

--

--

Neil Kakkar
The Startup

I write about Code and Life philosophies. Sometimes both. | https://neilkakkar.com | Engineer @PostHog | Write (Code). Create. Recurse.