Practical Tips for Working From Home

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.
The Startup
Published in
9 min readMar 19, 2020

--

Working from home for the first time is like suddenly being told you have to poop in the same room that you cook.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I have worked from home/worked on the road for the last 5 years, so I am no stranger to what it’s like to wake up in the same place I answer work e-mails. I am also very familiar with the intense boredom and lack of social contact that one suddenly faces when making the transition from office life to work-from-home life.

I started working from home in 2015 as a videographer and photographer, and this experience triggered a high relapse in my eating disorder. The lack of structure, feedback from supervisors, collective energy of coworkers, and minimal contact with the outside world impacted my mental health more than I knew it would.

I have heard many people glamorize working from home or working remotely (oh you’re so lucky, you get to work in your PJs!). And while I hope to show you that, yes, it can be a very enriching experience, I want to validate that the transition from an office to working from home is incredibly uprooting and can stir up a ton of anxiety, loneliness, and a feeling of “going completely batshit crazy.”

I want to share with you what I have learned over the last 5 years, and how I’ve been able to reduce my anxiety, set boundaries, and find structure while working from home.

--

--

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.
The Startup

Author / Speaker. Destigmatizing mental health with radical transparency. Hoping to meet you in the deep end. Author of bestseller “Where the River Flows.”