Lane Turner/The Boston Globe via Getty Images (2020)

Season of Loss: Processing the Forced Closure of My Family’s Small Business During a Global Pandemic

Natalia Brown
The Startup
Published in
4 min readNov 23, 2020

--

Public officials in the United States, and specifically in my home state of Florida, have long been at odds with public health professionals on executing a robust response to mitigate the spread of COVID-19. Over the course of this year, their inaction has catalyzed widespread loss throughout our communities. In my case, as for many others, the impact hits close to home.

I Know Science has been a natural part of my day-to-day thoughts for nearly a decade. It is the name of my mother’s business and, ironically, it also suggests the underlying failure that forced its demise. My mother made the difficult decision to permanently close the business during the unchecked proliferation of the COVID-19 pandemic. Now, I find myself struggling to utter the once-lively chime. With every day that passes, I Know Science represents more distant memories of risks and successes in place of the brand and place name it simply was before.

Processing the loss of a business does not compare to the loss of a loved one — as has been forced upon hundreds of thousands of families in the United States and over one million globally. Nonetheless, it has been a painful void in our lives, and I know we are not the only family in this position.

My mother poured all of herself into building this business from a mid-shower brain child. Although likely too young to fully understand the weight of the moment, I vividly remember her nervous posture when she first told me about the idea. I remember sitting beside one another in thoughtful silence as we brainstormed the concept and mission that would define the brand.

Fast forward several months, my brother and I were tagging along during the maze of early planning, interviews, and logistics — often literally hustling to keep up with the pace of it all. Nothing has yet to match her laser focus, meticulosity, and unrelenting work ethic in every aspect of the business development.

As I got older and grew into my role, I became most involved in crafting the curriculum that was the lifeblood of this venture. It is still difficult to describe how I felt when I found out we’d be opening the first brick-and-mortar store. Having our very own footprint in the community seemed like a massive jump that was still light years away.

Needless to say, it all became real very quickly.

My first day in our store was spent building wooden stools that would soon be seats for thousands of junior scientists. The stools wobbled, squeaked, and stood in for tables during our construction day lunch picnics. I remember feeling so official as we selected furniture, met with designers, and planned signage. There was so much joy and pent-up anticipation as the grand opening day approached. I vividly remember working our quirky little popcorn machine that celebratory afternoon.

Over the years, I watched my mother lead this business with unmatched grace and tenacity. I met kids with fervent curiosity that still motivate me to be a more diligent scholar and empathetic communicator. I gained a great appreciation for the character of my community and value of collaboration from my incredible coworkers and all of our customers. I’ve contributed to my fair share of family arguments on meaningful business decisions, late-nights, and emergency re-stocking runs. I have gained a greater sense of purpose and clarity in my own work, and I’ve had the unmatched pleasure of watching my mother blossom into an exemplary entrepreneur and professional.

In the wake of servicing hundreds of grateful parents and educators, thousands of gleaming young eyes and curious minds — I am unsettled by the closure that has forcibly disrupted years of my mother’s wholehearted work and sacrifice.

She and the other entrepreneurs impacted do not deserve this ending.

According to a study by economists at the University of Illinois, Harvard Business School, Harvard University, and the University of Chicago; over 100,000 US small businesses were forced to close their doors within the first three months of heightened coronavirus salience this Spring [The Washington Post]. As of September 2020, nearly 98,000 firms had gone permanently out of business [Yelp: Local Economic Impact Report].

Small businesses are bearing the vast majority of macroeconomic burdens due to the COVID-19 pandemic, meanwhile large corporations have experienced record surges in sales.

I ask that we do not allow this wave of closures and bankruptcies to go unnoticed. Some small businesses will make it through the COVID-19 pandemic on a blend of adaptability, risk tolerance, and luck [LA Times]. Most are in jeopardy of closing permanently [LA Times]. We have power as consumers to invest in the family-run ventures and local brands that give our communities an invaluable vibrancy and identity.

When you make a purchase, you are putting your money behind a lot more than the outcome of that transaction. What does the business look like behind the scenes? Do their values align with yours? What are they giving back to the people and place that you call home?

Please stay safe, stay home, and shop local this holiday season.

--

--

Natalia Brown
The Startup

energy justice scholar-activist, ecosystem science + policy student, amateur gardener + endorphin junkie.