Productive iPhone Apps I Use Every Day

mbvissers.eth
The Startup
Published in
3 min readFeb 28, 2021

Your smartphone isn’t for entertainment only.

Photo by David Švihovec on Unsplash

Introduction

We all have phones on us right now. Some newer phones than others, but the majority is smartphones. And a big part of those smartphones is iPhones. We all carry and use these devices, but not everyone is using them to their full potential.

You can spend hours on Facebook or Instagram, but you can also use it for productivity, learning, and inspiration. There are apps for learning languages, programming, stock markets, and many more things. And a lot of apps to help you remind things, plan things and be more productive. And that's what we should use our phones for more often.

This list isn’t exclusively iPhone-only apps, but I use all these apps on my iPhone. Because of frameworks such as React Native, a lot of developers can easily submit an app to both major app stores.

Bear

Bear is a minimal notes app with a lot of features that can be used optionally. The main feature I use is the easy Markdown text markup. This means that you can create rich-text with easy syntax.

Screenshot from the App Store

I mostly use this app for to-do lists for various tasks ranging from groceries to blog ideas or writing up pages full on a single idea to work it out even more. The app also has some widgets and other functionalities that might be of use to some.

Ermine

Ermine is another minimal app. It is a calendar app with a minimal customizable design and some nice-looking widgets. It offers support for native iOS calendars to be used.

Screenshot from the App Store

I use this app for the obvious agenda functionalities. I chose this app over Dawn because of the iOS calendar functions and the customizable widgets which look good with every home screen.

MinimaList

Another app for lists. MinimaList is a very minimal list-making app. It offers some nice widgets which is why I use it. The app offers less functionality than Bear for example. But the simplicity and widgets make it worth it for some other use-cases.

Screenshot from the App Store

I use MinimaList for more time-sensitive to-do-items such as learning for exams or not forgetting eggs at the store. I always have this widget in one of my widget stacks.

Duolingo

Probably one of the more productive apps I use every day. Duolingo is an app for learning languages with very short lessons. In my opinion, it isn’t the best way to learn a language, but it sure is convenient to do a quick lesson in the subway or at night while watching Netflix.

Screenshot from the App Store

I use it for learning French mostly, but I also like to check out other languages which I will continue to learn if my French becomes more fluent. I have a streak of about 330 days and can speak a little bit of French now. You never know when it could be useful.

Conclusion

I use a lot of apps that aren’t productive at all. Instagram, Reddit, and Twitter. But I do try to use my phone to make my future a bit brighter.

Do you use your phone a lot? Do you use your phone for work or learning, or only for connecting, socials, and killing time?

Thank you for reading, have a good day.

--

--

mbvissers.eth
The Startup

I occasionally write about programming. Follow me on Twitter @0xmbvissers