Programming Language Fatigue

nwillc
The Startup
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2020

--

I’ve worked in a lot of languages over the years. In the last few I’ve actively coded Go, Groovy, Java, JavaScript, Kotlin and dabbled in Elixir and Swift. Today I was working in Postman and wanted to pass results from one RESTful call to the next. Postman allows you to do this in scripts and offered some “simple” examples. Based on the examples I easily got what I wanted done and moved on. But at one point I realized I had no idea what language I was coding in. Pretty certain it was JavaScript… but it might have been Groovy… naw was JavaScript. Yeah. The thing is so much syntax and so many features are shared now that I just wrote the code and didn’t worry about which “muscle memory” was kicking in. It left me feeling a bit fatigued with the language wars though.

--

--

nwillc
The Startup

Graybeard code monkey, started on an Apple IIe, got a CS degree in the 80’s, and coded my way through C, C++, Objective-C, Java, Kotlin — and now Go.