Proudly Bringing Diversity to the Tech Industry in Canada

Jennietch
The Startup
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2020
Photo by Jure Širić from Pexels

I grew up in Canada, where I knew I could do anything I set my mind to, because of the incredibly diverse population and being surrounded by friends and family that were always inclusive and supportive.

However, I know that this isn’t the case for many women and visible minorities in our country and others. It’s harder for us to gain footing in certain industries that are traditionally male-dominated. And the numbers don’t lie.

Women and Minorities Are Underrepresented in Canada’s Tech Industry

In 2016, Statistics Canada reported that merely 23% of Canada’s science and technology workers aged 25–64 were women. Leading up to this employment data are the education differences for those studying STEM (science, technology, engineering and math). Only 34% of STEM Bachelor’s degrees were awarded to women. Unfortunately, further data on those who do not identify as simply male or female are not available.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Ryerson University’s DMZ found that some of Toronto’s top tech incubators didn’t exhibit sufficient diversity. In fact, Toronto’s booming tech industry was described as isolating for people of colour.

While we all understand that diversity and inclusion are important, this deficit in Canada is actually hurting businesses. A report by McKinsey clearly showed that businesses with greater diversity can better attract top talent and are more financially successful.

Being an Asian Woman in Tech is a Massive Asset to my Clients

My perspective and experience are unique. In the tech industry (and specifically, chatbots) it’s even rarer. I’m probably not what someone would think of when they are told about a tech consultant or a chatbot project manager.

But those of us who are up to speed on agile methods and the power of DEI initiatives know that diverse teams solve problems better. I’ve structured my business model to take advantage of this fact and to make sure I deliver it to all my clients.

Each of my team members and outside subject matter experts brings different backgrounds, cultures, genders and industries to the table. Together we create solutions that are accessible to more people and are more robust in general.

Growing up on The Prairies in a down-to-Earth household makes me an effective and no-nonsense communicator. It’s in my DNA to figure things out and to work hard. And I believe my own personality and empathy make me the perfect liaison between my enterprise clients and the highly-specialized chatbot developers I work with.

Being a woman means I come at problems differently than men. It also means that I interact differently with teams and I view these things as massive strengths. I have all the intelligence of my male counterparts, but I have the added asset of being uniquely me: one of the few women unapologetically operating with more empathy, flexibility, creativity, and care than my competitors.

What’s your operating superpower? What makes you stand out in your industry? Are you being bold and claiming it like I am?

Let me know your strength in the comments below. I’d love to connect.

Originally published at https://www.linkedin.com.

--

--