A Quick Glance — Beats Studio3 Wireless Over-Ear-Noise Cancelling Headphones

Guy Blake
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2021

Do Apple’s $350 Flagship Headphones Meet the Mark?

Apple’s ‘Beats Studio3 by Dre,’ Wi-Fi Noise Cancelling Headphones — Photo by Guy Blake

Evolutionary Sound Tech
The first time I placed a set of headphones on my head was in the summer of 1982. They were two-black foam ear muffs connected to a thin speaker wire fed into a ground-breaking musical device called a Sony ‘Walkman.’

The significance of the Walkman’s arrival can not be overstated. It challenged in magnitude and impact that of the printing press, the first moon landing… even the internet.

Okay, so maybe that second part might be a stretch. However, it’s hard to deny how this marriage of sound and technology changed the way music was heard by every generation to follow. Its power was the ability to alter the relationship between listener and music in a way previously thought only possible in sci-fi movies. For the first time, people could play music on demand anywhere, and this gargantuan step indicated the future was now.

Today, Apple’s ‘Studio Beats3 by Dre,’ continue to improve upon the mobility and intimacy of sound device technologies in a Wi-Fi headphone that ditches the plug-in cable along with ‘Pure Adaptive Noise Cancelling,’ (Pure ANC), software that actively eliminates unwanted ambient sounds.

Initial Impressions
I received these headphones as an anniversary present from my wife in July 2020. When I opened the box, I remember how cool they looked and how I would’ve liked to have owned them back when music determined a prominent aspect of my self image.

Like any Apple product I’ve ever used, set up was plug and play straight out the box. All I had to do was connect them via Bluetooth on my computer or phone. Once I put them on my head, I noticed a significant drop off in ambient noise right away as the ear cup padding fit perfectly snug against the outside of my face.

‘Studio Beats3 by Dre,’ is the brand flagship and first to come packaged with the, ‘Pure Adaptive Noise Cancelling,’ feature. It works well. So well I sometimes put them on my head with no music bumping through them at all simply to enter deep pockets of silence. It really helps my concentration.

However, Dr. Dre designed these headphones for music, so I put them to the test by playing some of my favorite ‘jamz,’ and experienced a sound which was simply astonishing. The bass tones rattle your bones, the highs are sweet and crisp, volume is more than sufficient, and battery life is very respectable at 22 hours. Not to mention, the recharge time is incredibly fast at about 2 hours to achieve full capacity.

The headphone’s body comprises a sturdy matte plastic which covers a metal headband and adjusts to fold and snap neatly above the ear pieces. Once folded, they fit perfectly into an Apple provided soft-shell carrying case. I recommend using the case while transporting them to keep from damaging the faux leather material that covers the ear cup padding. In my experience, this area of my headphones seems to take the most abuse.

Don’t worry about making a statement if that plays into your intent. A perforated logo positioned on the center of the right ear piece will let everyone know you’re rocking ‘Beats.’ Along the face of the left ear cup rests call answering and volume buttons that make a pronounced clicking sound to indicate an increase or decrease in output levels.

Considerations
These headphones are a solid unit and align into positions that may not sit perfectly on everyone’s head. I strongly recommend putting them on for at least 15 minutes before buying. The effort will be worth it to prevent wasting half a day to return them.

For me, the clicking sound isn’t a deal breaker. However, I’ve known people who have an aversion to it. If you feel the same way, I suggest going into a store and hearing it to make sure it doesn’t offend your sensibilities.

Conclusion
I’ve always felt that good headphones help transport you into an alternate reality. One where you find yourself bumping your favorite ‘jamz,’ and in the mind’s-eye acknowledging yourself as the super cool person we all know you to be. That’s the effect I had with my Sony Walkman back in ’82, and I’ve found again in Apple’s, ‘Beats Studio3 by Dre.’

Once again, The Dr. has taken his time to perfect the beat — Bravo.

--

--

Guy Blake
The Startup

Guy Blake is a Content Stategist and product/advertising photographer.