Quitting Corporate: Why I Chose Happiness Over Money

Carter Kilmann
The Startup
Published in
7 min readAug 2, 2019

--

Have you ever been pushed to a point where you’ve wanted to quit your job? Have you ever dreamt of saying goodbye to the daily office grind, packing up your cubicle (oh, that dreadful cubicle), and ditching that exhausting lifestyle altogether?

I’m right there with you, my friend.

Maybe it was when you were having “one of those weeks” where your to-do list kept growing faster than you could check it off. Maybe it was when you put in hours and hours of work into a project and got little to no recognition. Or maybe that coworker, who’s always pushing your buttons, pushed your buttons a little too hard.

At what point is enough, enough?

Well, I recently hit that point. Exactly one fortnight ago, I walked out of my comfy, secure, well-paying corporate job — for the last time. Crazy, right?

I must be to give up a steady paycheck and promising career trajectory. But it was probably the most rational (and biggest) decision I’ve ever made.

Let’s back up a little bit.

Welcome to 9-to-5..err..7..I mean 10…whatever

Three years and three weeks ago, I officially joined the workforce and started to contribute to society. Hooray!

--

--

Carter Kilmann
The Startup

Corporate banking drone turned freelance writer & editor. I write about personal finance, entrepreneurship, psychology, writing, and spontaneous allegories.