Reflecting On My Unsuccessful E-Book

Tough lessons on the reality of selling, writing, and the creative process.

Chris Wojcik
The Startup

--

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

When it comes to my online writing career, I’ve tried to model the best of the best.

I’ve written a metric-crap-ton of articles and blog posts, I’ve written on several different platforms, and I’ve started an email list to help me gain readers and “fans” for my writing. I did all the things that they say you’re supposed to do as an online writer to build your following.

I set up my accounts, and then, I just buckled down and wrote a lot.

I did this for an entire year. I spent an entire year writing online before I even thought about creating a “digital product” that I could sell. Eventually, I decided to write an ebook. Over the holidays, I buckled down and put the words on the page, and by the end of January, I was “done” with my first ebook.

However, when I finally did publish my ebook, my launch and early sales couldn’t have gone worse. I was surprised and frustrated by this failure.

These are my biggest takeaways from investing 2 months of my life into writing an unsuccessful ebook.

Ideas are fun, but ideas don’t sell products.

--

--