Resources for New Freelance Writers

Sandra Ebejer
The Startup
5 min readJan 8, 2019

--

Recently a friend mentioned he’s becoming disenchanted with his career and is interested in going solo as a freelance writer. Problem is, he has no idea where to begin.

I know how he feels.

When I decided to leave my job as a grant writer, I knew I wanted to write but didn’t know much beyond that. A simple search for “freelance writing” pulled up thousands of sites on the topic. And each site pointed to other sites and then within those sites were offers for e-books or courses or materials. Soon I was drowning in information with no idea where to begin.

Part of the problem was that I hadn’t pinpointed exactly what I wanted to do. Freelance writing encompasses so many different roles: copywriter, social media content creator, magazine article writer, journalist, technical writer, business writer, ghostwriter, creative writer….

With no specific idea of my goals, I was flailing around, jotting down tidbits of information without a clue of how to put it to use.

So, if you’re contemplating a freelance writing career the first question you must ask is, What type of writer do I want to be?

Some people can take on various forms of writing and do just fine, though I think having a specific focus will enable you to be more successful in the long run.

--

--

Sandra Ebejer
The Startup

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer