ThinkPad logo in closeup
ThinkPad T14s with AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 4750U.

Review of the ThinkPad T14s /w AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 4750U

One of the *hottest* laptops this year

Scollurio
The Startup
Published in
20 min readAug 11, 2020

--

I finally pulled the proverbial trigger on the new ThinkPad T14s by Lenovo. I was holding out, because I knew the new 7 nm Ryzen Renoir silicone would be making it’s way into Lenovos most popular ThinkPad line, the T-series. And oh the wait was worth it — kinda.

Spoiler: This thing is phenomenal in many ways, but one.

My configuration

Processor: Ryzen 7 4750 Pro (7 nm), 8 cores, 16 threads
Memory: 32 GB of DDR4 RAM, 3200 MHz, dualchannel (soldered on)
Screen: 1920x1080, 16:9, 400 nits, low power IPS
Graphics: integrated Radeon Vega 7 graphics
Storage: 512 GB NVMe SSD with Opal security features
Biometrics: fingerprint reader, Windows Hello IR-camera

My usecase

This was supposed to be my main machine and after about 10 days with it and intensive testing I made up my mind. Let me share my thoughts.

The idea: Using it in conjunction with the USB-C hub in my P27h Thinkvision monitor as a workstation and as a thin-and-light when I’m out and about. My main occupation is that of a commercial…

--

--

Scollurio
The Startup

Hailing from Austria, a self-employed graphics designer and writer since 2009. Loves long walks in the forest, rain, thoughtful solitude and silly raccoons.