Scanning for mobile devices through Wi-Fi using Pi Zero W

How to create a mobile device scanner using a Pi Zero W, airodump-ng and Go

Sau Sheong
The Startup
Published in
15 min readApr 28, 2020

--

Attending conference calls and online meetings for the past couple of months have been driving me crazy. Being stuck in a room, with a few monitors and computers facing you, then gesticulating to them while clicking on multiple mice and poking at the various keyboards and screens does that to you. My peak activity was having 2 conference alls, 3 Whatsapp conversations and 4 Slack chats all at the same time.

In all that craziness I’ve also started mucking around with the Pi Zero W (Pi0W) I got not long after my Pi4. After playing around with the Pi4 for a bit, I wanted to take a look at something different so I got myself its little cousin. While the specs are much lower than a Pi4, I really liked the form factor and price and it hardly heats up.

Pi Zero W (credits Chang Sau Sheong)

I had a couple of projects in mind, then one day as I was discussing (and gesticulating to myself alone in the room) with some friends who are looking for solutions to some interesting recent problems, something popped up. It was an interesting but not uncommon idea. Human traffic monitoring and geofencing using Wi-Fi signals sent out by your mobile phones. No one walks around without a smart phone any more (except my mom). And…

--

--