Self-Publishing through Amazon’s KDP

A step-by-step process to becoming a published author for free.

Leona Françoise Caanen
The Startup

--

Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

This post is an opinion piece based on my own experience. My goal is to assist future first-time authors, or first time KDP-authors on their self-publishing journey.

This past week I published my very first book and did it all by myself! And it ended up not even being all that challenging. Nothing you can’t do! Obviously an important step is writing the actual book, but here I want to share what comes after: the actual publishing of your creation.

What is KDP?

Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP), which has previously also been known as ‘createspace’, which allows authors to self-publish their books or creative works, and gain access to Amazon, where you can sell your book (and future books) for free. KDP doesn’t charge anyone any money for writing and publishing a book nor for using its tools. Instead, Amazon only makes money off of you from the books you sell (more on that later).

Why did I choose KDP

When I learned about self-publishing via Amazon’s KDP program, I really liked the option but also felt a bit of a moral issue. Selling my book on Amazon would mean that I’d be feeding Jeff Bezos’ billion-dollar bank account. Yet there…

--

--

Leona Françoise Caanen
The Startup

2x published author. World-traveller. 25 year-old, living in Amsterdam. Love connecting with new people & sharing stories about life.