Sensitivity as Superpower: Thriving in the Workplace and in Life

A Snap Shot of the State of Sensitivity

Anna Gibson
The Startup

--

I was sitting in a park, people-watching. There was a homeless man named Glenn on the corner nearby. He was shaking his hat at people with a beer in one hand, asking for money. No one would look at him. If they did, they would glance at him with disgust. People would purposely avoid eye contact. They didn’t want to be bothered. They didn’t want to be burdened with his existence.

I was on the train, and I first noticed people in their own little world. They would also avoid looking at each other, instead opting to stare out the window or bury themselves in their phones. If eye contact is made, it’s hastily wrenched away because god forbid we connect with others and talk to the person next to us.

I’m not perfect; I’ve done the same many times. I understand the caution that comes with being human. I’ve been in my head so much that I walked past Glenn once without saying hi. I might avoid contact with the ‘crazy’ dude on the bus. It happens. Sometimes it’s necessary. However, given the dog-eat-dog world we live in, the person who’ll strategically extend their heart and mind to others is king.

Sensitivity toward others is a godsend. I’m not talking about the mushy sensitivity that leads to breached…

--

--

Anna Gibson
The Startup

Buddhist. Journalist. Storyteller. Writer for ‘For Harriet’ and ‘The Mighty’. Journalist and Bibliophile.