Social Media is Overrated. Find Freelance Work Without Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn

The exact marketing steps I used to find clients (and grow my freelance business) without social media.

Alexander Lewis
The Startup

--

Source: Stencil

In December 2020, I logged out of Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn — with no idea whether I’d ever log back in again. I was tired of the mental drain of internet scrolling and decided to test once and for all whether I could grow my freelance copywriting business without social media.

Things got off to a scary start. My website traffic cratered. My inbound leads dropped. For three months, from January through March, I stayed afloat mostly by serving my existing clients. In the background, I wondered: Would this innocent experiment spell the end of my freelance business?

It turns out, I just needed a few months to adjust to freelancing without social media. After March, my new marketing tactics began to kick in. Soon, I matched my previous website traffic and even grew my leads. A year from the day I stopped using social media, I had grown my business by more than 50% and doubled my email list.

Here are my favorite tactics for finding freelance clients without social media.

5 tactics to find clients this week

--

--

Alexander Lewis
The Startup

Ghostwriter for Tech Leaders | Bylines in Adweek, The Next Web, Foundr, and Built In www.lewiscommercialwriting.com