Software Burnout Is for Real

Pen Magnet
The Startup
Published in
10 min readMar 7, 2020

--

Yesterday, when I was returning from work in public transit, I felt very tired. I decided to do remote the next day.

The evening passed quite joyfully. I played with my kid. We enjoyed Netflix on the couch. I had an extra hour of sleep for the next morning.

But today turned out extremely intense. I had a difficult time coordinating meetings, advising my peers and taking guidelines from seniors.

The remote didn’t work as expected. I should have been at the office to ease up some stress.

Or so I thought.

Because I knew, deep down, that remote wasn’t the problem. Nor it was the solution to the problems I faced even being at the workplace.

Software Is the New Blue Collar:

The term white-collar has historically been used to describe a person doing the work that requires mental efforts rather than physical.

It is a fact with which every union workingman is familiar, that his most bitter despisers are the petty underlings of the business world, the poor office-clerks…who, because they are allowed to wear white collar….regard themselves as members of the capitalist class.

— Upton Sinclair, Pulitzer winner politician who coined the term “white collar” (1919)

--

--

Pen Magnet
The Startup

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast